Kareem ‘Remus’ Burrell born November 15th, 1988, St. Andrew, Jamaica is the son of Philip “Fatis” Burrell & Donna Gillette. Remus was born into the Jamaican music industry.

His father’s record production label Xterminator Productions was formed in the late 80s featuring Riddims from Sly & Robbie, Firehouse Crew, and other musicians like Earl “Chinna” Smith and Dean Fraser.

The Xterminator label features artistes like Luciano, Sizzla, Ini Kamoze, Beres Hammond, Cocoa Tea, Marcia Griffths, Turbulance, Chezidek and more.

VP:      How did you get your start in the business? 

KB:      I got my start in the business by having access to my father’s home studio from around 2007, and I had friends who I was in a sound system with. We would record dubs, make remixes, and build beats that then progressed into my becoming a recording Engineer for my dad’s sessions whenever his regular engineers were away.  

VP:      What was your first notable project? 

KB:      Sizzla’s Radical album that was released in 2014.

VP:      What was your first breakthrough? 

KB:      I would say the song “Every Nation” featuring Sizzla, Tarrus Riley, Chino, and Dre Island. 

VP:      What are you working on now and what’s next? 

KB:      I’m currently working on tracks with Tarrus Riley, Runkus, MediSun, and others.  I’m also exploring my father’s catalogue, taking snippets and inspiration from earlier work, and creating new compositions. 

Connect with Kareem on IG @xtm_nation